In Memory of Pussy

I used to despise cats, their glistening eyes that glow in the dark like monsters’ and their creepy ‘meow’ in the midnight that sounds like ‘tiyanak’ trying to entice innocent victims. Until my nieces adopted stray cats that at first I dodged like disgusting poop. There were times I tried to touch their fur and I couldn’t bring myself to stop cringing like hell. Unlike dogs, cats had a very unusual ‘feel’ when you touched them. They were shivering weirdly and they didn’t even wag their tail. That was before.

p
Tatay, Dhea and Pussy (Dec 24, 2012)
image
Chazel, Pussy (the bigger cat), Dhea and Marshy (the smaller cat) on Jan 15, 2013

Now I realized that cats are cute and cuddly monsters and their glowing eyes with different hues I now find amusing. Even though a doctor advised me to stay way from furry mammals I can’t forgive anyone ditching harmless cats. They are friends and just some food and shelter are sufficient for them to stay with you forever.

But our cat, Pussy disappeared a couple of weeks ago. He was given to us by a friend. Younger Pussy used to stay at home sleeping all day and seldom left the house but when he started to reach puberty he eventually contemplated the magic of romance and he tried to woo cute female cats. He always left home thereafter and came back very weak and wounded. Our assumption is he fought against rival suitors. Little did I know that cats also have love dilemmas. Until one night he didn’t arrive home and we painfully accept the idea that perhaps he is defeated by a rival and dead.

xxx
RIP Pussy

Pussy usually sat behind the keyboard while I was playing Minuet in G till he fell asleep. I know he was listening. After weeks of his disappearance I came to figure that I already lost the one and only avid audience that I have. I may sound absurd but only cat lovers can understand. This vid goes out for you, Pussy dear, thanks for the memories.

8 thoughts on “In Memory of Pussy

  1. let’s not worry right now. i’ll be more concerned if he is a dog that could likely end in somebody’s pot. he may just be tired of listening to your playing. actually, it’s good for the human ear but
    maybe bad for the cat due to the ultrasensitive nature of his auditory cortex. i wonder if you can try chopin’s etude no. 3 in e major op. 10. is it too much to ask? if you post it in youtube, i’ll use it as
    my ringtone. 🙂

          1. oh dear, that was loud. i’m not deaf. you don’t have to shout. are you, by any chance, related to andres bonifacio who made the famous cry of balintawak heard around the world? anyway, it was entirely my fault for being makulit. end of the story. 🙂

  2. I’m sorry I know we’re supposed to be grieving here but I just can’t help and laugh out loud. Beaten by rival cats? Started leaving home because going somewhere looking for pussyfest (excuse me for the term, but since we are talking about feline, i might as well use that term. 🙂 I had a similar experience, but not as tragic I guess. I had a male cat who fell in love with this neighbor cat and he actually brought the pussy home. lol. No kiddin’. The neighbor cat was butt ugly but again, even in cats, beauty is in the eyes of the beholder. So there. Anyways those cats are here no more. They stupidly stole the neighbor’s fish, ayun, tinapon to God knows where. Mas stupid yung neighbor. Lol. condemning a cat because the cat behaved the way a cat was expected to behave! Sana nilagay na lang sa ref yung fish. Hmf. wala lang. nakakasama lang ng loob because I’ve grown attache dto that cat and even accepted his butt ugly lover. 😦

    1. LOL. I’ll be happy if Pussy brought his girl friend home but maybe this girl cat is very darn pretty so kras ng bayan. lol Walang puso ang neighbor nyo. I believe that animal lovers are really good persons and those who don’t have any empathy with animals are really evil people. lmao

Leave a Reply

